Our church is part of the Christian Reformed
denomination, which was formed in 1857. Our
church itself was organized in 1913 and our first
worship services were held in 1913 in the home of
John VanderKooi. Many of John’s great-great-
great-grandchildren are now growing up in our
church family. In 1914 we began meeting in our
first church building.
While the church originally worshiped using the
Dutch language, we began our first English service
in 1923 and were speaking Dutch during some of
the services until 1950.
Our church organized a Christian School Society in
1948 and helped to open the Worthington
Christian School two years later.
In 1962 we started a girls’ ministry – Calvinettes,
now GEMS – which has continued ever since.
In 1969 we started a boys’ ministry – Cadets –
which has continued ever since.
In 1974 we broke ground on our new facility. Over
the past few years (2013-2016) we have been
completing extensive renovations.
In 1995 a ministry to the Lao people in our
community began in another church in our classis.
The group now worships among our church and
continues to this day under the leadership of
In 2000 we began working with Ethiopian people
groups in the community. This led to the
establishment of Anuak and Oromo groups that
continue to worship among us.
In 2013 we celebrated 100 years of God’s